h1

Dec 26

27 December 2016

Dec 26,

A silence so thick it almost hurt my ears – that is, until I realized – who would be crazy enough to go to work that early when everyone is asleep recovering from the festivities.

That’s the way it is around here – a day off after the Holidays to recover from the Holidays. And they mean it – not a single car in the street, not a single jogger on the trail, not even a duck on the lake! I had the whole town to myself with this unique vibration you get from concrete, pavement, construction – all completely deserted except for the bits and fragments of human presence still lingering in the air.

How appropriate I thought, as I have to review a paper on noise control. The perfect solution? Let it be the day after Christmas every day! Then again, what was fun for a day may become tedious over time, wouldn’t it? Anyway, I enjoyed the walk and wonder already what next week’s silence is going to be like – January 2nd!

Leave a comment